Watch out for online job ads
Tampabay.com

Comment Policy

    Please be sure your comments are appropriate before submitting them. Inappropriate comments include content that:
  • Is libelous
  • Is abusive, harassing, or threatening
  • Is obscene, vulgar, or profane
  • Is racially, ethnically or religiously offensive
  • Is illegal or encourages criminal acts
  • Is known to be inaccurate or contains a false attribution
  • Infringes copyrights, trademarks, publicity or any other rights of others
  • Impersonates anyone (actual or fictitious)
  • Solicits funds, goods or services, or advertises
  • The St. Petersburg Times does not edit posts but reserves the right to delete comments that violate our policy.

Creditors get OK to question Pearlman | Main | Here's a great opportunity to learn about money »

May 14, 2008

Watch out for online job ads

Some of them are actually scams, designed to steal your identity, says the Financial Industry Regulatory Authority. In one case FINRA cited, the information was stolen through Craigslist job ads. FINRA offers these tips to avoid becoming a victim.

Comments

The ads were placed by WSN/TCT "consultant" Alec Defrawy. After a Newsweek story about it, Monster revoked all ads.

Funny enough the same happened later to 1200 job ads on Hotjobs for bogus online "paper" USAVoice, after Helen Huntley (who received a call from some "Alex Siman" defending the scam) made an inquiry with Hotjobs.

USAVoice immediately changed names to "WorldVoice News" after a story in the Washington Post about its deceptive phishing-like activities. Mr. Defrawy is clearly associated with Internet Solutions Corp, that owns Worldvoice News.

Of course this is all pure coincidence (cough).

Several years a go Trans Con ran a ridiculous number of ads on monster.com for jobs.

What were they really collecting peoples information for??

Emphasis on "con-sultant." Is he going into business with John MacIdiot? They both seem to think alike. He is always quoting/referencing JM. (Maybe vice versa, too.)

So anyway is this phishing thing pretty low key? Is anyone actually losing money? Or is it just data collection to sell mailing lists? Any upfront fees?

No, he's only a consultant. ;-)

We don't know anyone who visits this blog who runs a phishing scam using bogus online ads, now do we?

Post a comment

If you have a TypeKey or TypePad account, please Sign In

About This Blog

St. Petersburg Times personal finance editor Helen Huntley writes about money topics and answers questions about financial planning, investments and personal income taxes.

Helen has been following the Lou Pearlman/Trans Continental investment scam since December 2006. Read more about it in this special report and on this blog.

Looking for help with your income taxes? Check out this special report

E-mail questions to Helen Huntley:
hhuntley@sptimes.com.

Subscribe to this Blog

Advertisement